The inaugural GYC Centenary Trophy 2011

The inaugural GYC Centenary Trophy 2011

This year during “Les Voiles de Saint Tropez“ a new special challenge has been organized, Thursday 29th September, for all classic yachts. Initiated by the Gstaad Yacht Club in cooperation with the Société Nautique de Saint-Tropez the Centenary Trophy has been launched as a race for traditional boats aged 100 years and older.

The Gstaad Yacht Club, on behalf of his Patron His Majesty King Constantine of the Hellenes, has sponsored the Centenary Trophy, and registered the event with the ISAF.

Peter Erzberger, Commodore of the GYC, with a commendable desire to bring together the world of the sea and racing, chose Les Voiles de Saint Tropez and its organising club, the Société Nautique of Saint Tropez, for his idea of this special race, because the classic yacht “Mariquita”, owned by a member, had her 100th anniversary this year.

To celebrate this event, the Société Nautique de Saint Tropez, with Commodore André Beaufils, agreed to organize a special regatta, using a pursuit race format. In this way the slowest yacht is first to set off and the fastest last, making for a great competition. The winner has been the first crossing the finish line under the ‚portalet‘.

With a very light south easterly breeze the race was started and in the end 15 yachts crossed the finish line.

The winner of the Centenary Trophy 2011 was the 44-foot “Bonafide”, a ‘5 tonner’ class, originally built in 1899 then rebuilt and relaunched in 2003. , followed by Tuiga from the Yacht Club Monaco and Pesa from Jean-Yves Roubine.

The Trophy Ceremony took place the same evening in the Chateau St. Tropez, transformed the Gstaad Yacht Club especially for this event. Having its clubhouse in the Swiss Alps with no access to  a lake or the sea, it was a major step to bring its members, their guests and the wider world of yachting closer to the unique atmosphere of Les Voiles de Saint-Tropez.

Giuseppe Giordano, owner of “Bonafide” and his crew happily received the Centenary Trophy and will thus become the trophy holder for one year. The trophy itself, handed over by GYC Honorary President, George Nicholson is also 100 years old and was made by Wakely and Wheeler of London in 1911.

The Gstaad Yacht Club, founded in 1998 in the Swiss mountains, congratulates as well his partner, the Société Nautique de Saint-Tropez for the success of organizing this first regatta.

Both clubs are looking forward to welcoming all classic yachts from 1912 and older for the Centenary Trophy next year.

Results :

1. Bonafide (Sibbick 1899)
2. Tuiga (Fife 1909)
3. Pesa (Oertz 1911)
4. Mariska (Fife 1908)
5. Nan of Fife (Fife 1896)
6. Victory (Hitchens 1883)
7. Kelpie (Mylne 1903)
8. Avel (Nicholson 1896)
9. Partridge (Beavor Webb 1885)
10. Marigold (Nicholson 1892)
11. Veronique (Luke 1907)
12. Windhover (Hambleants 1904)
13. Wayward (Shepherd 1908)
14. Owl (Shepher 1909)
15. Sif (Hansen 1894)



PR and Communication

Carla Anselmi

Carla Anselmi
Mobile: +39 347 4632757

Latest PR Articles

Nach oben